Skip to content

Google Drive can host a web page

February 25, 2013

Google-DriveProfHacker has a neat little tutorial today that explains how to Host a Website on Google Drive. You still create the HTML documents in your favorite editor (e.g. Dreamweaver); this article explains how to use Google Drive to make them visible to the public.

At Notre Dame we host web pages in a “www” folder in our institutional file space. One way the Google Drive option differs is that it’s easy to share. If a student group in one of your classes is using Google Docs to collaborate, they can use this technique to host a web page with action items or accomplishments. Members of the group can be granted editing rights, while the public is limited to viewing – or you can limit all access to the group.

For those who want to take this another step farther, Google offers an editor called Drive Notepad, which lets you edit HTML and other text documents in a Chrome browser window.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2013 3:23 am

    I was wondering if anyone had suggestions on which is the best web hosting service???? There’s so many to choose from and so many different prices. I’ve heard that the cheap ones aren’t necessarily good if you want to drive a lot of traffic because places like google won’t recognize the cheap-o web hosts.

    I want to set up an informational website, that will eventually have income-generating ads….. so at first it will be relatively small-medium. And I hope to drive a LOT of traffic to it.

    These are some of the hosts I’ve come across: (Tell me if they’re any good?)
    ~Site Build It
    ~PowWeb
    ~1&1
    ~ThinkWeb
    ~FutureQuest
    ~pair Networks

    PLEASE, if you have used any of these or heard of someone using these…. give me your opinions on them! I need to figure out which ones are good and which ones would screw me over!

    Remember: I want to EVENTUALLY have an income-generating informational website

  2. May 27, 2013 10:00 pm

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking
    and checking back frequently!

  3. May 27, 2013 4:18 pm

    Very informative. I’ve subscribed to your feed. Carry on the great work.

Trackbacks

  1. Top new posts of 2013 | NspireD2: Learning Technology in Higher Ed.

Leave a comment