Skip to content

Annotate videos with VidBolt

June 27, 2014

I saw this review – Annotate Video on the Fly: A Review of VidBolt – a long time ago and only now got around to trying out Vidbolt myself. In testing the tool, I created the example below from one of my favorite videos, Ken Burns: On Story.

Vidbolt-KenBurns

Vidbolt is very easy to use and I can see many ways it might be used in a college course. The tool is still in beta, so I imagine there will be several changes as it matures. A feature that would be great for educators would be restricted group commenting.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris Clark permalink*
    July 5, 2014 5:47 pm

    This is simpler, mostly because it doesn’t do as much. Popcorn Maker is also not commercial product.

  2. bboessen permalink
    July 5, 2014 12:32 pm

    Ah well. Probably some kind of beta glitch. Have you used Mozilla Popcorn Maker? How would you compare that to this?

  3. Chris Clark permalink*
    July 5, 2014 8:26 am

    I don’t remember having any trouble, no.

  4. bboessen permalink
    July 3, 2014 9:35 am

    Thanks for the link, Chris. I do a lot with my students’ analysis of video clips, and I hadn’t seen this tool before. Could be useful for a group analysis of a scene.

    Did you have to do anything other than sign in and paste the Ken Burns url into the Add box to get your clip added? This beta is being hinky when I try to add one of my own.

Leave a Reply

