Skip to content

I’m replacing Google Reader with Feedly

May 10, 2013

Feedly LogoFor years, Google Reader has been a very popular way to follow news sources and other syndicated reading material, like this blog. I recently shared the news that this venerable product is going away. After considering the alternatives, my personal decision is to move to Feedly.

The final factor in my decision was this article by David Pogue, my favorite tech writer. Here’s a summary of Pogue’s points on Feedly:

  • Automatic import of your list of subscriptions from Google Reader, which Feedly will integrate into their own database by July 1
  • Neat ways to subscribe to new sources
  • Apps for iOS, Android, and Kindle devices
  • Feedly is pretty
my Feedly

My Feedly page in Chrome right now

There are ads, subtly placed to the side, and I’m glad Feedly has them. The revenue they generate will increase the chances that the product will be around for a while. The major downside (which doesn’t affect me) is that right now Feedly doesn’t work in Internet Explorer, but that can surely be fixed.

The existing software is excellent; Feedly gets 4.5/5 stars in the iTunes store, Google Play, and the Amazon Appstore! The Firefox add-on gets the same rating, while the Chrome extension rates a full 5/5. The company plans to develop apps for Windows 8/RT, Windows Phone 8, and BlackBerry 10.

More

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Arthur Johnson permalink
    May 16, 2013 1:43 pm

    I moved to http://eldonreader.com a couple of weeks ago. Pretty good one!

  2. kate marshall permalink
    May 13, 2013 1:28 pm

    Thanks for this – I’ve been waiting to see what others do (and whether or not they ultimately end up liking the new reader they chose).

  3. May 11, 2013 3:39 am

    It will interesting to see how many 3rd party apps will integrate it in their workflow (ie NetNewsWire, Reeder, Mr.Reader and such) …

  4. derekbruff permalink
    May 10, 2013 3:12 pm

    I switched over from Google Reader to Feedly earlier this week. So far, so good. The only thing I don’t like about it is that the titles of blogs are hard to read–not the titles of blog posts, which are nice and easy to read, but the sources of those posts.

    Taking some time to prune my feeds was helpful, too! I think there’s a much better chance I’ll keep up with my feeds going forward…

Trackbacks

  1. After Google Reader: subscribe and share | NspireD2: Learning Technology in Higher Ed.
  2. I'm replacing Google Reader with Feedly | KOILS...
  3. Six alternatives to Google Reader | NspireD2: Learning Technology in Higher Ed.

Leave a Reply

