Skip to content

Pocket those web pages to read later

April 24, 2012

pocket-confirmI find intriguing articles, blog posts, or other web pages all the time – but often I don’t have time to read them right away. I used to keep track of such things with social bookmarking via Diigo or Delicious, but there’s a better way. Now I use Pocket (formerly known as Read It Later). When I run across something interesting, I click a button and the material is saved for me. Later on I visit a website and see a list of all the items I have saved. If I’m going to be travelling, I launch my iPad and download the material to read offline.

Here’s how it works

  1. Install the Pocket bookmarklet or extension for your browser(s). If you have a mobile device, get the app as well.
  2. Every time you see something you want to read later, click the Pocket button or link. You’ll get instant confirmation that it was saved.
  3. When you have time, go to the Pocket website or use a mobile app to read your content.
Pocket Overview
One of the advantages of reading this way is that ads and other distractions are removed. I love the iPad app, but there are also apps for Android, Kindle Fire, and Blackberry. There are other services out there, including Instapaper and Readability, but I prefer Pocket.

More: Save Articles to Read Later with Pocket (ProfHacker).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2012 5:52 pm

    Instapaper=awesome. Especially with the send to kindle feature. I get a nightly digest of my articles.

Trackbacks

  1. 5 teaching tools to try this summer « NspireD2: Learning Technology in Higher Ed.

Leave a Reply

