Skip to content

iPad keyboard review

May 6, 2010

I am typing this on the Apple iPad Keyboard Dock unit ($69). The keyboard is very solid and keys are the same size as a normal keyboard. It feels perfectly natural. As I type this in the WordPress app, the device knows the keyboard is attached and does not display the keyboard image at the bottom of the screen. I can use the arrows with the shift key to select text, then press command-X and cut. I also tried other command keys; copy and paste worked, but quit, save and close did not. I suspect that which keys work will depend on the app. Keys also give you direct access to the Home screen, search, brightness, the onscreen keyboard, and screen lock.

iPad keyboard 2 iPad keyboard 1

I also have the carrying case for the iPad, which must be removed before the device goes into the dock. I found it hard to detach the case, and I wonder if there is any risk of damaging the case if the iPad is removed and put back repeatedly. However, I read a note that encourages users to remove mobile devices from their cases while charging, in order to let heat dissipate.

The dock is advertised to work with the VGA Adapter and the Camera Connection Kit. You can connect it to a computer, a TV, a stereo, or electrical outlet, depending on whether you want to sync, charge, listen, or view.

The dock holds the iPad in portrait mode, which is not ideal for some applications, but for typing lots of text it should be fine. The unit has some weight to it, and is balanced in such a way that you would have to tip it very far back to make it fall over.

The Apple iPad Keyboard Dock begins to make the iPad feel more like a net book. It’s not for everybody, but some users will find it indispensable.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 7:23 pm

    An external keyboard really increases productivity. I always use a foldable one myself.
    I saw a huge review of external keyboards for ipad at squidoo.
    Here’s the link in case someone is interested –> http://www.squidoo.com/must-have-ipad-accessories-bluetooth-keyboards

  2. kate brown permalink
    December 13, 2010 9:21 am

    If your interested in getting a keyboard for your iPad, check out this link: http://www.kaitlynb.gknu.com/shop/store/shop.php?c=iPadk&x=iPad_Keyboards

  3. May 12, 2010 3:12 pm

    It’s a very good and detailed review, but seems to me that Apple is selling two parts of a simple notebook as to separate product. I can’t quite grasp the need for such a product, to big to carry around, and not powerful enough to replace a notebook. Ok, the design is nice🙂

  4. May 7, 2010 12:08 pm

    thanks for the review. apple made a high quality product this time but i think i need to save money to buy it🙂

  5. Catherine Perry permalink
    May 7, 2010 1:10 am

    These detailed reviews give me the impression that I am the proud owner of an iPad myself! Perhaps I won’t need to buy one after all. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

