Skip to content

How Millennial are You?

February 25, 2010

You don’t have to read Cosmopolitan to find out, just take the quiz at the Pew Research Center website. Here are my results:

As you can see on the chart, my score says I behave more like a Gen-Xer than the Baby Boomer I really am. I feel pretty hip, but maybe I’m a traitor🙂

One of our mantras at the Kaneb Center is, “Your students are not you.” That is, they have different goals, backgrounds, cultural norms, interests, and so on.

America’s newest generation, the Millennials, is in its coming-of-age phase. Who are they? How are they different? How are they being shaped by their moment in history? And how might they reshape America in the future?

These questions are tackled in a fascinating research report released yesterday by the Pew Research Center: Millennials: A portrait of generation next. I plan to read it and perhaps gain some new insights on my students’ behavior.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. chappy permalink
    June 13, 2011 3:08 pm

    When I first took the test I scores 52.
    Then I retook the test thinking like a college kid and scored a 99.
    So if I understood the results correctly, the the perfect millenial is an uniformed liberal who gets all their information from social media sights, is covered with tattoos and body piercings, and can’t be bothered to get involved in the important issues of the day

  2. avoteforthefuture permalink
    February 25, 2010 11:21 am

    I got a 64 – and I thought it would be higher!

    Not my fault my parents were married… 🙂

    SM
    http://avoteforthefuture.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

