Skip to content

Google Calendar and Concourse

December 7, 2009

Concourse is a good system, but sometimes it needs a little help. Personally, I have never been a big fan of the Concourse calendar tool. Other people use it well, and more power to them! Over the past few years, however, I have become a fan of Google Calendar. Here are some of the reasons why:

  1. Our students use Google mail, so a Google calendar is easily accessible to them outside Concourse
  2. Students who use Google calendar can subscribe to a calendar, adding its events to their display
  3. A Google calendar can be embedded into a Concourse page
  4. The calendars are prettier than Concourse’s

The big disadvantage is that Concourse events can’t be automatically added to a Google calendar. A quiz or assignment created in Concourse can be automatically added to that system’s calendar – and linked to the item. However, I know of very few peope at Notre Dame who use this feature.

There’s lots of information on Google Calendar at the LT Lab website, so I won’t try to explain it here in 30 words or less. Here’s the link you have all been waiting for, though, a cheat sheet on how to add a Google Calendar to Concourse. You can also try the video below.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris Clark permalink*
    December 7, 2009 2:33 pm

    Excellent point. I vaguely alluded to that in step one of the original cheat sheet, but I just revised it to make things more specific.

  2. December 7, 2009 1:29 pm

    Don’t forget to make your Google Calendar a shared one. Basic I know, but those are the kinds of things I forget!

  3. Chris Clark permalink*
    December 7, 2009 12:29 pm

    I received this comment by email: “So what calendar do people use to schedule things like quizzes and so forth? So they create a calendar for each course? I love the idea but I’m not sure how to get faculty to best leverage it.”

    I like providing the convenience of the calendar for my students. I list major events, like project due dates and exams, as well as classes, office hours, and vacations. You can also put special events on it, like speakers. I tried adding a basic summary of content for each class, but that gave me one too many things to do.

    I only teach one class in any given semester, but I would expect that people would have a separate calendar for each class.

Trackbacks

  1. End-of-semester Concourse wrapup « NspireD2: Learning Technology in Higher Ed.

Leave a Reply

