Skip to content

Baby won’t you Drive my Google?

April 30, 2012

Google has leapt into the synced cloud storage market with Google Drive. Some of us here at Notre Dame were already confused by the choice of Box versus DropBox, and now a new option drops into our laps. I’m not going to try to explain it in words – the video does a pretty good job – but I will say that I’m be curious to see how it pans out.

In the case of Google Docs, Drive isn’t actually copying full files to your desktop – it copies links. When you double-click them they open documents in your browser. That could be good or bad. I put the client on my Mac and it was useful to me right away. I had a lot of loose Google Docs and was able to  create new folders and organize them – more quickly than I would have been able to do in a browser. I’m not sure that will translate into longterm efficiency, though.

With other file formats, you can sync, share and view just about anything. I successfully tried Word and Excel files, a QuickTime movie, and an Illustrator file. It would not do InDesign or MP3. It also provides the option to convert appropriate files to Google Docs when you add them to your desktop sync folder.

Learn more – Overview of Google Drive or Get started

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 592 other followers

