Skip to content

Best online collaboration tools?

April 20, 2012

collaboration tools graphic

I found Robin Good’s interactive graphic, Best Online Collaboration Tools of 2012 today through Digital Humanities Now. He used a concept mapping tool called Mindmeister to categorize a wide range of different websites and software. He has evidently been doing this since 2008. It’s a fascinating visual that provides a useful way of categorizing the available tools.

On the downside, I don’t understand Robin Good’s use of the word “Best” to describe this list. It’s an extensive compilation of collaboration tools, but there are so many of them! For example, under “web conferencing” over sixty items are listed. There are no details – just links to websites – and there’s no effort to explain the list as far as I can tell. Certainly there’s nothing at Masternewmedia.org, Robin  Good’s blog. You may find his list useful, but don’t expect it to help you choose anything.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. derekbruff permalink
    May 13, 2012 11:42 pm

    I’ve always found similar “top 100 tools for X” lists to be less than useful. I don’t want a list of 100 tools for doing something–I want to know about 3 or 4 really good tools for the task. It takes a lot more work to filter out those other 96 or 97 tools, but the resulting recommendations are much more valuable.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    March 24, 2013 7:59 am

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as
    I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
    My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my users would really benefit from a
    lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you.
    Thanks!

  3. Chris Clark permalink*
    March 24, 2013 9:02 am

    No problem — the blog content has a Creative Commons license.
    I prefer that people not re-post entire articles, but that’s up to you.
    Thanks for asking. I appreciate knowing when people are using the material.
    I’m happy that you found it useful.

  4. ALBERT permalink
    May 28, 2014 9:15 am

    Very awesome! Thanks for including Proofhub.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 633 other followers

